City Council

As a general-law city, Montebello operates through the Council - City Manager form of municipal government. The five City Council members are elected at large to overlapping terms of four years and annually select one of their members to serve as Mayor. The City Council is the legislative body responsible for the overall policies and direction for the City of Montebello. They are the citizens' representatives in local government. The City Council appoints residents to serve on several commissions.

City Council
1600 West Beverly Boulevard
Montebello, CA 90640-3932

The City of Montebello City Council currently consists of the following members:
• Mayor Kimberly Ann Cobos-Cawthorne
• Mayor Pro Tem David Torres
• Councilmember Angie Jimenez
• Councilmember Scarlet Peralta
• Councilmember Salvador Melendez

The City Council holds its regular meetings on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of every month, beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber at City Hall. In the interest of public health and safety, City Hall facilities are temporarily closed to the public until further notice.
City Council Meetings can be viewed LIVE on the City’s website at If you wish to submit a public comment card on any of the listed agenda items or non-agenda items, you may do so in advance by email to the City Clerk’s Office at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. from 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. on the day of the meeting. Please provide your full name and subject.

Remaining City Council Meeting Dates:

  • September 8 and 22
  • October 13 and 27
  • November 10 – no 2nd meeting in November per Resolution No. 19-24
  • December 8 – no 2nd meeting in November per Resolution No. 19-24


Councilmember Cobos-Cawthorne 
Kimberly Ann Cobos-Cawthorne 


Angie Jimenez David Torres

 8105290 2

Mayor Melendez   With Glasses
Angie M. Jimenez
David N. Torres

Scarlet Peralta

Salvador Melendez
Mayor Pro Tem Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember


Christopher Jimenez City Clerk
Rafael Gutierrez City Treasurer



The City Council Members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the above elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. The physical address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California 95814. The physical address of the Montebello City Clerk's office is 1600 W. Beverly Boulevard, Montebello, California 90670. The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website at

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account